Preview. This site is being tested before the printed calendar is finished, and pages may still change. See the calendar (preview PDF)

A Forager’s Year

No. 76

Plant of the month: November

American beech

Fagus grandifolia

beechnuts

Nut & seed nuts

Drawing: Britton & Brown, Illustrated Flora (1913)

Find
Common in the right habitat
Effort
Quick kitchen prep
ID risk
Beginner
Origin
native
Uses
  • Eat raw / salad
  • Roasted nuts

Season

  1. Jan
  2. Feb
  3. Mar
  4. Apr
  5. May
  6. Jun
  7. Jul
  8. Aug
  9. Sep
  10. Oct
  11. Nov
  12. Dec

in season peak

What these mean

Find

1 Everywhere · 2 Common in the right habitat · 3 Patchy · 4 Elusive. This is about how much there is, not whether you may pick it. It is based on iNaturalist sightings within 25 km (about 15 miles) of downtown DC, counted on October 3, 2026. The four rules that each plant’s “Find” reason refers to: (A) the estimate is the confirmed sightings, plus the unconfirmed ones (scaled down where the plant has lookalikes in its genus), plus the sightings marked as planted; (B) the tier by estimate: 1,500 or more is tier 1, 250–1,499 tier 2, 50–249 tier 3, under 50 tier 4; (C) tier 1, Everywhere, also needs a source saying the plant is common in lawns, sidewalks, yards or gardens, vacant lots or towns, or at least one DC street tree of it per km of sidewalk, otherwise it is tier 2; (D) if a reliable source says the plant is rare in this region, or that wild plants rarely bear the harvest, only planted sightings count. iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.

Effort

1 Grab & eat · 2 Quick kitchen prep (under about 30 minutes) · 3 Real work (hours, or cooking needed for safety) · 4 Project (days or equipment). Scored on the simplest worthwhile use; each plant’s page says why.

ID risk

How hard it is to harvest safely. Beginner: no dangerous lookalike, and the edible part is not easily confused with a toxic part. Careful: a toxic lookalike, or toxic parts that end up in the harvest unless removed (for example elderberry stems, unripe ground cherries), or other parts of the plant rated medium-or-higher toxicity, with reliable features to separate them. Expert only: a potentially deadly lookalike that is hard to separate, or (for not-recommended harvests like pokeweed) a plant whose safe preparation can’t be guaranteed. Toxic parts that are obviously separate and thrown away anyway (pits, seeds, skins) don’t raise it; the Toxic parts mark carries that warning.

Native or not, and the invader stars

Origin is where the plant comes from: native, non-native, or mixed (the harvest covers both). The stars rate plants on invasive plant lists: ★★★ Virginia DCR “High” or Maryland prohibited invasive · ★★ Virginia “Medium” · ★ Virginia “Low” · ☆ listed only by the Maryland Invasive Species Council or the Mid-Atlantic Plant Invaders guide (advisory) · no stars: native or not listed.

Seasons

Start, peak and end are given in thirds of a month: early, mid or late. A plant counts as in season for a month if it is in season at any point in that month. Some greens and roots have a second window, in spring or fall; their page shows each window. A season that runs across New Year is shown as one window.

What it looks like

A large tree with smooth gray bark. Small prickly husks split to release shiny brown, irregularly three-sided nuts. The kernels are small and edible raw or cooked.

Safety

NC State: low-severity toxicity. The nuts contain saponic glycosides and can irritate the stomach in some people if eaten in quantity, so eat raw beechnuts sparingly. No dangerous lookalike nut.

Safety flags

Safety marks and flags: what this means

Deadly lookalike / Toxic lookalike: a cited source names a lookalike of that danger. Deadly means a source says eating it may be fatal or calls it deadly, or NC State rates it high severity with life-threatening symptoms (sources sometimes disagree; for example Virginia creeper). Each plant’s Lookalikes list says how to tell them apart; “harmless (may be edible)” lookalikes are listed so you know a mix-up isn’t dangerous. Cook first: cooking is needed for safety (for daylilies it is a precaution, not a sourced requirement). Eat in moderation: a source says to limit quantity or frequency (for example oxalates in sorrels and dock, ginkgotoxin, safrole). Spray risk: a source says the plant is commonly treated with herbicide in parks or lawns (invasive control, lawn weeds) or, for ginkgo, sprayed to stop fruiting. Contamination: a source says the plant concentrates pollutants. Each plant’s Safety flags list gives the details and sources.

ID risk
Beginner
Why
No dangerous lookalike nut; small, shiny, triangular nuts in prickly husks (NC State).
Handling hazards
Spiny husks (minor)
Soil risk
low
ID risk: what this means

How hard it is to harvest safely. Beginner: no dangerous lookalike, and the edible part is not easily confused with a toxic part. Careful: a toxic lookalike, or toxic parts that end up in the harvest unless removed (for example elderberry stems, unripe ground cherries), or other parts of the plant rated medium-or-higher toxicity, with reliable features to separate them. Expert only: a potentially deadly lookalike that is hard to separate, or (for not-recommended harvests like pokeweed) a plant whose safe preparation can’t be guaranteed. Toxic parts that are obviously separate and thrown away anyway (pits, seeds, skins) don’t raise it; the Toxic parts mark carries that warning.

Handling hazards: what this means

Stings, thorns, irritating or phototoxic sap, staining hulls and spiny husks, with a severity: minor = brief discomfort; moderate = rash or blisters lasting days; serious = burns, scarring or medical care possible.

Soil risk: what this means

Based on the part you eat, following the urban-soil lead guidance on the Field safety page: higher for greens, shoots and roots; moderate for flowers; low for fruit, nuts and sap.

Field safety for every outing (poison ivy, ticks, soil, and more)

When to pick

Starts
late Sep
Peak
late Oct–mid Nov
Ends
late Nov

Beechnuts ripen from September to November, and the burs open to drop the nuts after the first heavy frosts, finishing within a few weeks (Silvics Manual). NC State Extension lists September to October. The first nuts to fall are usually wormy or aborted (Silvics Manual), so crack a few to check they are filled before gathering many. In the District the average first freeze comes around November 18 (FOX 5 DC). Good crops come only every 2 to 8 years. All three dates are estimates.

How the dates were worked out

Every start, peak and end was re-checked in October 2026. “Sourced” means a source opened during the check states that timing for the DC or Mid-Atlantic area. “Estimated” means no source states it exactly; the reason, the evidence and the source links are under “How the dates were worked out” on each plant’s page. Peaks are often estimated, because few sources name a peak. iNaturalist evidence means research-grade sightings near DC, by month, of the plant at that stage (for example, in fruit). iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.

Season basis: estimated: start, peak, end

Start

estimated: No Mid-Atlantic source dates the first sound nuts; late September balances NC State’s September start against the Silvics warning that early drops are poor.

Peak

estimated: The peak is inferred from the frost trigger and DC frost timing, not stated by a source. NC State (North Carolina) lists only September-October, so drops can come before frost.

End

estimated: Range-wide sources; no Mid-Atlantic source names a closing date. Late November allows for the frost-triggered drop in DC.

Evidence

start: NC State Extension: September to October. Silvics: ripens September to November, and the first nuts to fall are usually wormy or aborted. Apart from two winter records (Jan 26, Mar 1), DC iNaturalist fruiting records start in late April as young burs (Apr 27, Apr 29, May 11, May 19), and are most numerous in June and July (11 and 15); they do not show when sound nuts drop. | peak: Silvics: seed fall begins after the first heavy frosts open the burs and is complete within a few weeks. FOX 5 DC: the District’s average first freeze is November 18. | end: Silvics and the Woody Plant Seed Manual: ripening and seed dispersal September to November, after frost.

Where to look

Mature slope and ravine forest, above all Rock Creek Park (no gathering); Mason Neck State Park has plenty of logged beech and allows nuts, while beechnuts are ambiguous on the C&O Canal (not on its limits list; ask the park).

Habitats
floodplain & stream-valley forest, upland oak-hickory woods
Habitats: what this means

Listed where the plant’s own sources place it in that habitat. “Disturbed ground & waste places” means a cited source places it on disturbed areas, sites, soil or ground, on waste places or waste ground, on construction or abandoned building sites (old home sites count), on rubble or in strip mines. When the source gives examples of the disturbed places, at least one example must be of that kind. Examples that do not count: natural or forestry disturbance (treefall gaps, fire, windthrow, flood scour, old riverbanks and creeks, clear-cuts); roadsides, railroads and rights-of-way; and abandoned fields, pastures and farmland, which are “Old fields & meadows”. “Vacant lots” only where a source says vacant or empty lots.

Most-logged places

None of the most-logged places allows picking.

Ask first: rules unclear or not checked

  • C&O Canal NHP (towpath, Georgetown to Great Falls MD and beyond)

    88 sightings · Legal to pick: ambiguous · see them on iNaturalist

    Ambiguous: the C&O compendium allows edible fruits, nuts and berries generally but sets no limit for this one; ask the park first. Of these, 23 are at Carderock.

No picking here (4 places)
  • Rock Creek Park

    920 sightings · Legal to pick: no · see them on iNaturalist

    Look but don’t pick: Rock Creek Park’s compendium bans gathering any fruit, nut, berry, seed or greenery.

  • Huntley Meadows Park

    107 sightings · Legal to pick: no · see them on iNaturalist

    Look but don’t pick: Fairfax County parks ban removing any plant part without written permission.

  • Glover-Archbold Park (Rock Creek Park unit)

    89 sightings · Legal to pick: no · see them on iNaturalist

    Look but don’t pick: Rock Creek Park’s compendium bans gathering any fruit, nut, berry, seed or greenery.

  • Glencarlyn Park

    78 sightings · Legal to pick: no · see them on iNaturalist

    Look but don’t pick: Arlington County park rules say flora shall not be removed or disturbed.

Most-logged places: what this means

The places with the most research-grade iNaturalist sightings within 25 km of downtown DC (re-counted in October 2026 over every named place, campuses, condominiums and private grounds included), each marked legal to pick or not. A sighting inside several named places counts once, for the smallest of them, but a sighting inside a National Park Service park never counts for a private, campus or unchecked place. iNaturalist shows where people walk and log plants, not true abundance. Private campuses, condominiums, museums, estates and utility land (Pepco’s power-line land near Sligo Creek) are marked “no” (pick only with the owner’s permission); public university campuses, city parks and other places whose picking rules were not checked (county stormwater land, the U.S. Capitol Grounds, Greenbelt’s North Woods, federal facilities such as the National Zoo) are “unknown”. A place needs at least 2 sightings, so plants with very few sightings (rugosa rose) have no places. No most-logged places are named for at-risk plants (ramps, chinquapin, American chestnut); chinquapin’s page names Mason Neck State Park, where picking is legal, and asks you to leave most nuts. For some places, mostly Rock Creek Park, the iNaturalist map shows more sightings than the count here, because a map link cannot leave out exactly the sightings credited to another place. iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.

Ways to use it

  • Eat raw in small quantities, or cooked or roasted (NC State Extension; Practical Self Reliance)
  • Nuts are an important wildlife food, so take modestly (Silvics Manual)

Keeping

Dry them 2-3 weeks after husking, then store airtight in the fridge or freezer.

Use within
weeks
Keeps fresh
Gather right after the nuts fall, before the squirrels do (WSU). Husk them and let them air-dry in a single layer, well ventilated, for about 2-3 weeks (Practical Self Reliance). Then store airtight below 70°F: shelled nuts keep several months refrigerated and only 1-2 months at room temperature (general guidance for nuts, WSU).
Keeping basis
general guidance for its type

Ways to keep it

  • Dry as researched: roast & store; canning: n/a (not shelf-canned)

    Roasted nuts do not keep as long as raw ones; use them within a few months (general guidance for nuts, OSU).

  • Freeze as researched: freeze; canning: n/a (not shelf-canned)

    Freeze shelled nuts in tight freezer containers at 0°F (WSU).

  • Store whole as researched: store in shell; canning: n/a (not shelf-canned)

    Once dried, keep in airtight containers somewhere cool, or refrigerate (WSU).

Canning: what this means

Shelf-stable canning, three levels. Lab-tested: a lab-tested recipe from the National Center for Home Food Preservation (NCHFP) or Oregon State covers this fruit and product, or a generic recipe for its kind (the line says so, for example chokeberry). Extension recipe: a published Extension recipe (University of Alaska Fairbanks, written for Alaska species; University of Maine’s dandelion jelly), or a process that is safe only with a pH meter; follow it exactly, never improvise. No tested recipe: refrigerate or freeze, don’t can. “Hot-bottled syrup” = maple and walnut syrup, which keep when bottled hot at full syrup density. The Canning line names the exact product each source covers, for example “whole berries” or “juice”; a product not named there (such as juice from a berry with only a whole-berry recipe) has no tested recipe.

Keeping basis: what this means

“Specific to this plant” or “general guidance for its type” (for example NCHFP guidance for leafy greens applied to a wild green).

Nutrition

How much of a day’s needs one standard serving (30 g) provides, using the FDA’s daily values and serving sizes. The FDA calls 20% or more “high” and 10–19% a “good source”. Every figure below is listed with its source; where the sources disagree, all of them are shown and no conclusion is drawn.

No nutrient measurements were found of the fresh part you eat.

Figures left out, and why (1 study; 1 with no figure used)

The calendar counts a study with no figure used here when one of its vitamin, mineral or dietary fiber figures was left out as a dried sample, another part, or for an unclear species, part or basis; figures given per amount of juice are not counted.

  • USDA SR Legacy (counted in the calendar): carbohydrate has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber; no FDA daily value; not measured in the cited work: USDA marks it 'Calculated or imputed'; 0 data points (imputed or calculated by USDA, not an analytical value); not measured in the cited work: USDA marks it 'Calculated or imputed'; USDA notes 'Nutrient that is based on other nutrient/s; calculated rather than analyzed'; 0 data points; protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report; round-1 source without a basis/part call; species, part or state not clear: USDA’s scientific name 'Fagus spp.' (species not given; could be American or European beech); kernels, 'Shells' are the refuse (39%); dried; data points per value 0-1 (most values imputed or calculated); origin, wild/cultivated and sample count not stated; total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber
What was searched
  • Europe PMC: searched 2026-10-09, 155 records; 151 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • PubMed: searched 2026-10-09, 50 records; 50 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • OpenAlex: searched 2026-10-09, 741 records; 720 after removing duplicates across databases; 4 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • Crossref: searched 2026-10-09, 117 records; 101 after removing duplicates across databases; 2 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • J-STAGE (Japan): searched 2026-10-09, 54 records; 54 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • USDA FoodData Central (online search): searched 2026-10-09, 2 records; 2 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • USDA FoodData Central (downloaded SR Legacy 2018 and Foundation 2026 tables): searched 2026-10-09, 2 records; 2 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
  • All databases together: 1121 records from all databases, 868 unique, 4 candidates, 0 read, 0 used; 4 not read (paywalled 0, blocked automated access 4, not online 0)
  • KCI (Korea), CNKI (China), SciELO (Latin America), CORE, USDA’s AGRICOLA and PubAg, Google Scholar, and national food composition tables other than USDA’s: not searched (October 2026).

The counts are of papers new in this search. Sources found before this search (such as USDA’s entries) were not counted again.

Each database was searched for the plant’s scientific and common names together with nutrient words (composition, nutrient, vitamin, mineral, fiber, protein and others), in titles and abstracts only. Papers that don’t name the plant there, and words not on the list (such as fat, energy and moisture), were missed unless another paper led to them; the AI researchers found some that way.

Found but not read (4)

Collected in October 2026 by AI research agents, following written rules; the calendar’s figures were then checked independently.

Native or not

Origin
native
Native range
eastern North America
Virginia invasive rank
not listed
Maryland invasive status
not listed
Native or not, and the invader stars: what this means

Origin is where the plant comes from: native, non-native, or mixed (the harvest covers both). The stars rate plants on invasive plant lists: ★★★ Virginia DCR “High” or Maryland prohibited invasive · ★★ Virginia “Medium” · ★ Virginia “Low” · ☆ listed only by the Maryland Invasive Species Council or the Mid-Atlantic Plant Invaders guide (advisory) · no stars: native or not listed.

Virginia DCR, Virginia Invasive Plant Species List (effective September 2024), verbatim: "Under the DCR Invasive Species Assessment Protocol, approved by the Virginia Invasive Species Working Group, January 2024, species were ranked as exhibiting high, medium or low levels of invasiveness based on their threat to natural communities and native species. Invasiveness rank is higher for species that: • Alter ecosystem processes, such as succession, hydrology or fire regime. • Are capable of invading undisturbed natural communities. • Cause substantial impacts on rare or vulnerable species or natural communities or high-quality examples of more common communities. • Are found widely distributed and generally abundant where present. • Disperse readily to new areas. • Are difficult to control." The list also states: "The list is for educational purposes only and has no regulatory authority."

Maryland Department of Agriculture, Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant Law and Regulations page, verbatim: "Plants on the Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant List may not be added to stock after the effective date and should not be sold after their phase-out period ends."

No official DC invasive plant list was found.

How the ratings were set

Find
Common in the right habitat Estimate 4,790 = 4,068 research-grade iNaturalist sightings within 25 km + 617 needs-ID sightings counted at 100% (in the October 5 genus count, 4,079 of the 4,081 research-grade Fagus sightings here were American beech) + 105 'cultivated' (planted) sightings (rule A); that is tier 1 by count (rule B). Rule C: Casey Trees says "Within the District, American beech is the most common species of tree", but the same article says beeches are "almost exclusively found in DC’s forested areas managed by the National Park Service", not in an everyday place; none of its other sources says it is common in, or a weed of, an everyday place (lawns, sidewalks, yards or gardens, vacant lots, towns), and DC’s street-tree inventory lists 454 living American beeches, under the line of one per km of DC sidewalk (2,406), so it cannot be tier 1 (Everywhere). Final tier 2.
Effort
Quick kitchen prep Thumbnail the thin shells off the small triangular nuts and eat a few raw or toast them; gathering a cupful is tedious.
Find: what this means

1 Everywhere · 2 Common in the right habitat · 3 Patchy · 4 Elusive. This is about how much there is, not whether you may pick it. It is based on iNaturalist sightings within 25 km (about 15 miles) of downtown DC, counted on October 3, 2026. The four rules that each plant’s “Find” reason refers to: (A) the estimate is the confirmed sightings, plus the unconfirmed ones (scaled down where the plant has lookalikes in its genus), plus the sightings marked as planted; (B) the tier by estimate: 1,500 or more is tier 1, 250–1,499 tier 2, 50–249 tier 3, under 50 tier 4; (C) tier 1, Everywhere, also needs a source saying the plant is common in lawns, sidewalks, yards or gardens, vacant lots or towns, or at least one DC street tree of it per km of sidewalk, otherwise it is tier 2; (D) if a reliable source says the plant is rare in this region, or that wild plants rarely bear the harvest, only planted sightings count. iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.

Effort: what this means

1 Grab & eat · 2 Quick kitchen prep (under about 30 minutes) · 3 Real work (hours, or cooking needed for safety) · 4 Project (days or equipment). Scored on the simplest worthwhile use; each plant’s page says why.

Sources

21 sources, each linked to the original.

  1. Beech leaf disease in Maryland University of Maryland ExtensionBacks up: picking rules
  2. Rock Creek Park Superintendent’s Compendium (2026) National Park ServiceBacks up: picking rules
  3. 36 CFR 2.1 - Preservation of natural, cultural and archeological resources Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School (text of federal regulation)Backs up: picking rules
  4. Maryland man fined $50 for picking berries ReasonBacks up: picking rules
  5. Foraging Beech Nuts Practical Self RelianceBacks up: description, uses, keeping
  6. DC street-tree inventory (DDOT Urban Forestry, UFA Street Trees layer): living trees by species, queried 2026-10-05 (454 living American beeches) District of Columbia (DDOT Urban Forestry Division, via DC GIS)Backs up: findability
  7. iNaturalist research-grade observations of Fagus grandifolia within 25 km of downtown DC iNaturalistBacks up: findability
  8. Beech leaf disease: an emerging threat to our forests Casey TreesBacks up: habitat, picking rules
  9. Food Safety and Preservation: Nuts & Seeds Washington State University Extension, Lewis CountyBacks up: keeping
  10. Harvesting, Handling, and Storing Nuts from the Home Orchard (FS 146, rev. 2013) Oregon State University Extension Service (PDF hosted by UC ANR)Backs up: keeping
  11. USDA PLANTS Database: Fagus grandifolia (FAGR), native status USDA NRCSBacks up: native or invasive status
  12. Virginia Invasive Plant Species List (effective date: September 2024) Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation, Division of Natural HeritageBacks up: native or invasive status
  13. Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant Law and Regulations (Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant List, updated January 2026; additions effective July 15, 2026; 'Next Plants To Be Assessed' 2026-2027) Maryland Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection & Weed ManagementBacks up: native or invasive status
  14. Non-Native Invasive Terrestrial Plant Species in the State of Maryland (updates approved through the April 18, 2024 MISC meeting) Maryland Invasive Species CouncilBacks up: native or invasive status
  15. Plant Invaders of Mid-Atlantic Natural Areas, Field Guide (Swearingen & Fulton, 2022; successor to the NPS/USFWS 5th ed., 2017) Mid-Atlantic Invasive Plant Council / Passiflora Press (hosted by Bugwood/Mid-Atlantic Invaders Tool)Backs up: native or invasive status
  16. Invasive Plants in the District DC Department of Energy & EnvironmentBacks up: native or invasive status
  17. Fagus, beech (Woody Plant Seed Manual, Agriculture Handbook 727) USDA Forest ServiceBacks up: season
  18. Record cold possible tonight as D.C. prepares for early freeze (Nov 2017) FOX 5 DCBacks up: season
  19. American beech nuts (beechnuts) research-grade observations within 25 km of DC, by month (fruiting annotation) iNaturalistBacks up: season
  20. Fagus grandifolia (American beech) NC State Extension Gardener Plant ToolboxBacks up: season, description, uses, safety, habitat
  21. American beech (Silvics of North America) USDA Forest ServiceBacks up: season, habitat, description, uses